Conductor: Sean Morris | Leader: Sarah Douch

69th Season

Orpington Symphony Orchestra was founded in 1949, and was conducted by Joseph McMenemy for twenty-one years. Leonard Davis was appointed conductor in 1970, and continued to direct the orchestra for the next thirty years. Michael Axtell succeeded Leonard Davis in 2000. Raymond Lewis conducted the orchestra from  2003 to 2018. 

Orpington Symphony Orchestra is very pleased to announce the appointment of Sean Morris as conductor.

The orchestra is now a fully independent organisation although it originally came under the auspices of Orpington and District Adult Education Centre, subsequently becoming part of Bromley Adult Education College. Throughout its life, the orchestra has been supported by Bromley Arts Council. Orpington Symphony Orchestra is a member of the National Federation of Music Societies.

The orchestra has established a regular pattern of three concerts: one in December, one in March, and the final concert of the season, in June.

Soloists who have appeared with Orpington Symphony Orchestra include:

Ralph Holmes
Levon Chilingirian
Irene Kohler
Hugh Bean
Colin Parr
William Overton
John Coulling
Julia Cload
Paul Barritt
Lorraine McAslan
Lionel Handy
Alison Kelly
Nigel Clayton
Gary Ryan
Gina McCormack
Francis Mason
Clare Hammond
Susie Meszaros
Ursula John
Madeleine Ridd
Raymond Lewis
David Owen Norris
Haru Ushigusa

Other sites that list our concerts

News Shopper


Making Music

Orpington Towntalk

Classical Events

Bromley Arts